Good morning to all and a very Happy Birthday to Pat,

February 1st 2014 – a very significant time for me and one that is all about the personal journey I am making and how I have come to find hope and so this brief pictorial post is for me and all those close to me who have helped me on this journey so far.

A special hi and thanks goes out to Pat, my sister (well technically in law but that sounds so cumbersome). happy Birthday Pat, have a great day and give Tony, Toni and Cindy a big hug from me! Xxxx

RESTORING HOPE.

HOPE 1

It is so easy for me to shrug this one off as we all do with things that are a part of our daily life and routine. We become desensitised and fail take proper note of the norm. How fortunate am I to be in an environment where I feel hope is a part of the daily norm? Yet I have had to travel across continents and become part of a totally different culture in a developing country to find this.

I am surrounded by hope in a country with 3 million orphans, all of whom are born with a statistical life expectancy of 56 years and an 89% likelihood of living below the international poverty line of $1.25 per day. I am surrounded by the least valued of these people, the children discarded by the systems and sometimes their families left to roam the streets in gangs and thieve and beg for sustenance. yet I am surrounded by hope. Are you?

So what is hope?

020114_0430_RESTORINGHO1.jpgWikipedia comes somewhere close for me:

Hope is the state which promotes the desire of positive outcomes related to events and circumstances in one’s life or in the world at large Despair is often regarded as the opposite of hope. Hope is the “feeling that what is wanted can be had or that events will turn out for the best” or the act of “look[ing] forward to something with desire and reasonable confidence” or “feel[ing] that something desired may happen” Other definitions include: “to cherish a desire with anticipation”; “to desire with expectation of obtainment”; or “to expect with confidence”In the English language the word can occur either as a noun or as a verb, although hope as a concept has a similar meaning in either use.

DSCN0438 (2)MY DEFINITION

Hope rises from despair of one sort or another and at one level or another, therefore hope is more than just desire it is the seed of belief, and like all seeds it needs care and attention to flourish. Look after that seed and it will grow strong and tall as belief takes hold. Nurture that seed well enough and from the pits of despair will grow a mighty force that can rise up and conquer adversity.

Hope is the seed of belief.

I see those seeds being nurtured every day at Amani, as every child smiles and laughs, gives thanks and eats so I see the despair being conquered and the belief growing.

20140123_162211 2013-11-29 13.24.03 2013-11-29 09.55.02 2013-11-22 General Pics Nov 2013 004

The end of my first week in the library
The end of my first week in the library

DSCN0423I am lucky to be able to witness these things and as I have so so my own personal development has flourished. There can be young and old seeds, for example the seed of self belief is a journey some people wait most of their lives before they set off.

For me my journey is to find the next chapter in life and my time here in Moshi, with the children and staff at Amani is having a significant impact on that journey.

I thank them all, every child, every colleague, my wonderful Mama and Baba at the house I call home and all of you my friends for taking time to be with me here on these pages.

February 1st 2014 – A page is turning in my book of life.

With love and forever memories: For Den xxx

3 thoughts on “RESTORING HOPE

  1. Tony Robbins has some interesting takes on this. He agrees with some of what you say about hope arising from despair and a belief in a positive outcome. He further talks about expectation, focus and standards. If we don’t expect to succeed, if it is not a ‘must’ in his words, and if we lack the focus or our standards are not consistently high enough then no amount of hope will save us. He does some work teaching this in camps in Third World countries and South America. 🙂

    Like

    1. Interesting, I would love to hear or witness how he approaches this in the Third World Camps. It is hard to get the kids to open their minds to imagine a future sometimes, they are so accustomed to living for the day/surviving.

      Like

I need to know your thoughts, tell me here, please

