Good Day My Friends,

How is your world treating you? As well as mine, which is fantastic, I hope.

Every day this week I have awoken in my bed in Moshi, Tanzania, East Africa, I have got up and spent a couple of  hours writing or researching class material then I have washed and dressed. Here is the problem, getting dressed. Because I go to work in England and I come home in Spain!

The reality of the weather now is that I leave the house on a typical February day in London, (grey, chilly, cloudy and a high chance of rain) and I return mid-afternoon on a June day in Malaga with the sun bathing me in all her beauty and temperatures of around mid to late twenties. It is the weirdest thing ever, but on a technical note it does make the “what to wear decision” a complex one. Not that my days are punctuated with “which heels match which outfit” anymore, or which necklace, earrings and bracelet ensemble to select but still the choice between jeans and trainers or long shorts (no showing of knees here) and trainers is a tiresome one!

So my friends, what is Good Hope? Many of you have asked.

I decided to ask the children.

“When I think of Good Hope I feel very comforted. Good Hope has taken my away from my hardships and problems.”   Acquilina – aged 16 – living with an uncle and hopes to be a tour guide or actress.

It help me to fulfil goals and be a doctor. I need to read biology. It is not good to be lazy because lazy bring poverty, so hard work is a source of development.”  Zainabu aged 15 – profile in progress.

When I come to Good Hope I feel happy. Education is everything to me and the street children should get education or they be thieves.” – Sophia – aged  – living with grandmother and hopes to be an actress or a tour guide.

“Good Hope teaches all students how we can live with other people. God bless Good Hope for helping us.” Joyce – aged  15 – lives with her mother and hopes to be an actress or a cook.

“Good Hope helps orphans and children who live in hard environment. Good Hope helps children who cannot get education and are affected by aids, they visit the sick and homebound.” Yvonne – aged 18 – lives with her mother and hopes to be a teacher or accountant.

            “It gives me hope when I lose hope.”

            “When we play we lose time to study.”

            “They look for the people who sponsor children to secondary school and help us speak English.”

            “Help orphans.”

            “Good Hope gives me friends.”

            “Good Hope reduces the number of street children in Majengo.”

            “Good Hope change my life”

Various students of assorted ages.

I am amazed at the kid’s perceptions and their awareness of the issues of street children pierces my heart.

These kids are very special to me. But I would like you to know, that from what I have experienced so far, they are no different to any of the children here. They all possess this capacity and thirst to learn despite their circumstances alienating them from the opportunity.

The kids are sending huge, enormous, massive and kubwa sana (very big) hugs across the oceans and continents this week.

NB: Excessive use of adjectives as we are only just exploring the power of these words and the kids are getting a little carried away in their enthusiasm!

2014-06-30 10.21.57

CLASS A STUDENTS SAYING THANK YOU

They want to say thank you to all of you for following their progress and in particular to those among you that have so generously provided them each with an exercise book for both English and Maths, the ability for me to purchase the teaching manuals we so badly need, a subscription to National Geographic Kids (we cannot wait for issue one) and a small cash float to start to make some of the improvements to their school days that I dream of. We are also exploring the possibility of having a UK school supply us with their old books. Wow.

From the kids and from me, writing this on a grey and cloudy London morning, I say:

images

 

           

 

2 thoughts on “Waking up in London and going to bed in Malaga

  1. I am sooo pleased that others followed my lead. National Geographic will be a great teaching aid. I used to get this when I could afford it. They also do a kids national geographic now if there are younger children there. The teaching manuals for all the staff there is an amazing offer also. As is the cash float somebody has sent you. Wow what a great response to your last blog post.
    I really hope your deal with the UK school comes off.
    Maybe I could get my boys school to do something also. Either donate the money from there next fundraising event or send you some old school reading books or library books. These may not be as useful though as they are an infant school.
    Unfortunately I cannot approach either of my eldest kids schools due to our family situation that you are very aware of.

    Like

    1. Thanks Adele for all the kind words and yes the response has been humbling, everyone is so supportive.

      I am trying to co ordinate a plan for working with partner schools at the moment I will keep you informed. Xxxx

      Like

I need to know your thoughts, tell me here, please

