Brrrrr it’s cold.

It is not meant to be cold in Africa. It doesn’t generate cold images for me but I know from last year that I find the winter here tough. June to September is winter, although by most of your standards it is no where near cold but for a sun lover who resents all her friends and family’s constant messages of beaches, BBQ’s and summer fun while she is wearing the only fleece she brought with her! It is cold.

2013-10-23 15.10.10

However, Kili will emerge on the next clear day resplendent in her robe of snow, this is the upside.

To more serious matters my friends. My post of last week raised a question or was it a challenge? It was certainly a tough one.

Would I swap the current eagerness to learn amongst the kids here for the more lackadaisical, laissez-faire attitude bred by availability

 Flip back to Last weeks post if you need to understand this question.

Tough one?

STAY AS THEY ARE   KEEN AND EAGER

June Letters 2014-06-16 004
CLICK ON PICTURE FOR CLARITY OF WORDS

versus:

DEVELOPED WORLD TAKE FOR GRANTED

bart-simpson

               “Schools boring!”

How many of you are nodding and how many shaking their heads? Or do you just read and let me do the tough stuff like deciding?

Well I won’t shirk! Of course in a perfect world I would balance the right to education equally with the high personal motivation to learn. But life is far from perfect and I had to fall off my politicians stance of sitting on the fence and not really answering the question.

Fence sitting

I hate to disillusion anybody but it is actually simple for me. Nothing will deter me to lose my belief that every child has a right to education.

Every child deserves the right to a place to play, education, love and food. After close to two years here I find the need to add “food” to my mantra. It never occurred to me, the laissez-fare westerner, that the right to food was not a given for kids.

In simple and undoubtedly controversial terms my friends – give me lackadaisical, laissez-faire anytime.

Until next time…

One thought on “Get off the fence Gill

I need to know your thoughts, tell me here, please

