Five years and three days have come and gone…

There are so many motivational messages out there warning about not living in the past. Letting go of the past and I get it, I really do.

the-past-is-not-a-good-place-to-live-quote-1

But I want to start a campaign that promotes a healthy remembrance of the past.

For me, I live in the present and to be frank I don’t pay enough attention to the future. But the past?

Well the past is the stack of mattresses waiting on the sidewalk for me when the present throws me over the edge of the 50 storey building that is the now. I tumble and fall and stutter and somersault but then there is that plop as I land on the welcoming and enveloping soft, comfortable and comforting cushion of the past. I sink further and further in within the arms of memories and I receive succour just like a baby on his mother’s breast and then whoosh! The cushions release me and spring me upwards with a smile and a laugh and I land on my feet ready to face the now.

shaunMy past is my safe haven.

My past is where the people who know me best are always waiting, smiling and arms open.

My past is where I had my finest hour, it started the chain of events that led from a tiny bundle of one to a joyous father of three and young man running his own business.

I won’t live in the past.But no way will I let go of it.

My past contains too much love and happiness and it helps me put the present in perspective and step forward with knowledge and experience under my belt.

My past is my armour to carry me through the next half a decade. It has shielded me well for the last half so why I would I take it off now?

 

6 thoughts on “5 Years Flying Life Solo

    1. Haha yes exactly Stephanie, well said and lets just say when the locals here in Tanzania ask me (as is common practice) how old I am my honest response generally gets a WOW, well done!! Getting older is seen as an achievement here. Have a happy and productive week. x

      Like

  1. Well, it’s nice to idealize living on the moment, but reality is we are the sum of our past, and if we have a nice past there is nothing wrong to have good memories.
    As we age, and we get older the reality is we get somewhat stuck in our past, there is some no doubt who may enjoy the music that young people love today, but I am not one of them!
    But neither I want to be young again, and be as dumb, and inexperienced about life as I was.
    Sure getting old it’s not all wine, and roses, diminishing health, and sometimes loneliness, by circumstances outside our control, and our inability to start from zero, as we did before, well those are things we have to face, and deal with them rather than pretend they do not exist, or feel inadequate because somehow we suppose to live in the present, when the present could be stark, and devoid of warmth, love, companionship, support, and understanding, for whatever reason, hey! We are just human, and the older the more fragile, and dependent we become, to pretend and expect otherwise it’s naive, and totally unrealistic.
    Like the song says: To remember it’s to live, so lets live remembering. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I am like you. My loving family was my foundation and core of my heart. It never hurts to know love kept me alive and happy. There’s a song with that line by the Eagles. 🙂 Peace and love, Robin xo

    Like

I need to know your thoughts, tell me here, please

